Tate Turner Prize

Installation view Spike Island, Bristol 2017. Courtesy the artist, Hollybush Gardens and Liverpool Museums. Photo: Stuart Whipps

26 September 2017 – 7 January 2018

The Turner Prize is awarded annually to an artist born, living or working in Britain, for an outstanding exhibition or public presentation of their work anywhere in the world in the previous year.

The four shortlisted artists for the Turner Prize 2017 are:

Since 2011 the Turner Prize has been staged outside of London every other year. For 2017 it will be presented at Ferens Art Gallery in Hull as part of the UK City of Culture 2017 programme.

The members of the Turner Prize 2017 jury are:

  • Dan Fox, Co-Editor at Frieze
  • Martin Herbert, art critic
  • Mason Leaver-Yap, Walker Art Center’s Bentson Scholar of Moving Image in Minneapolis, and Associate Curator at KW Institute for Contemporary Art in Berlin
  • Emily Pethick, Director, Showroom

The jury is chaired by Alex Farquharson, Director of Tate Britain.

Ferens Art Gallery
Queen Victoria Square
Hull HU1 3RA



Tate Turner Prize